top of page
< Back

Free Trade Inn

One of Sileby's most iconic buildings.
'Double click' on the photograph for larger pictures and more notes.

The Free Trade Inn is a post and panel cottage that dates from the later medieval period. The cottage was owned by the King family from the 17th century until 1809, and possibly much earlier. It became a beerhouse just after 1830 but wasn't fully licensed until 1953. Although there have been a number of changes to the property, and the odd thatch fire, the main building has largely kept its historical integrity.

For more information about the Free Trade as a pub :

bottom of page